Medico-legal society of toronto

  • Home
  • Publications & Resources

Medico-legal reports have been the subject of study by the Medico-Legal Society of Toronto (“MLST”) since 1971, when suggested guidelines and a detailed skeleton outline for the preparation of medico-legal reports were published in a letter from the then President. Between 1970 and 1977, another document was developed and entitled the “Inter-Professional Code of the Medico-Legal Society of Toronto”. This document was a statement of principles governing some physician-lawyer relationships, and included topics such as “Subpoenas and Court Attendance“, “The Medical Witness”, “Medical Expenses” and “Consideration and Disposition of Complaints".

Thank you to our appointed committee of Council members to prepare this 2020 revision. Those members are:

  • Dr. Arthur Ameis, MD, FRCP(C), FAAPMR, DMLE, CFE, (President, 2017-2018)
  • Dr. Harold Becker, MD, CCFP, FCFP (LM) (President, 2011-2012)
  • Joseph Caprara, BA, LL.B. (President, 2018-2019; Council Member, 2020-2022)
  • Joseph J. Colangelo, BA, LL.B. (President, 1997-1998)
  • Dr. Michael R. Corbett, Ph.D., LL.M., F-ABFT, FCSFS (First Vice-President, 2020-2021)
  • Patrick Hawkins, BA, LL.B., LL.M. (President, 2020-2021)
  • Dr. Karina Kowal, MD, DESS, CIME, LL.M., Q.Arb. (Council Member, 2020-2021)
  • Dr. Dale Robinson, MD, FRCP(C) (Council Member, 2020-2021)
  • Dr. Michael S. Ross, MD, FRCP(C), CMLE (Council Member, 2012-15 and 2020-2022)
  • Philippa G. Samworth, BA, LL.B. (President, 2008-2009; Council Member, 2020-2022)
  • Dr. Howard Seiden, MD, M.Sc., FCFP(C), FIAIME (Council Member, 2014-2018) 

The Medico-Legal Report, 2021

Join us on:

Medico-Legal Society of Toronto
301-250 Consumers Road
Toronto, ON M2J 4V6

T. 416 494 1440 ext. 258
F. 416 495 8723

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software